Yay! New Forum / Introductions

Hi Enigma Team,

My name is Alvin and I would like to thank you for the wonderful work you are doing… I have just installed catalyst on a windows machine and excited to learn on how to be able to use it to make my life in crypto easier (though I have little knowledge in developing).

Congratulations on your new website and forum.

Cheers.

Hi, my name is Nigel, from Western Australia, and am fairly new to the coding game, especially Python. Am very appreciative of all the work done from the Catalyst team, and hope I can learn lots and give back accordingly. Lets see if this old dog can learn some new tricks. :grinning:

Sean, from the US, and to say that I was excited when I discovered Catalyst is an understatement.

My story: I started investing/trading about a year ago. When I was trying to figure out if there was a way to integrate my Robinhood account with any sort of portfolio tracker or site I could access via desktop, I came across Quantopian and was rather intrigued. As I was both lousy at trading and didn’t have the ability to watch the stock market for the 6 1/2 hours a day it was open, I quickly realized that having an objective, automated way to approach the markets was the way to go. I didn’t know anything about programming, so I took a week off of work and learned enough Python to be able to understand the example algorithms and how Quantopian works, and then started plugging away at writing various strategies and backtesting them to see what works. I wrote some stuff that backtested pretty well, but mostly did nothing in live trading because there wasn’t much in the way of volatility in the stocks/ETFs that I was trading. The whole time this is going on, I’m completely unaware of crypto.